Lighten Up Francis!

Summer is the season where less is always more… less clothing, less stress, less boring… but did you ever think of wearing less makeup? As the temperature rises no one wants to feel like their face is hidden under layers of sticky foundation while the rest of your body is frolicking along in a floaty sundress, so changing your makeup routine is definitely a must!

During the winter I use foundation and power to even out my skin tone and cover up the fact that I am feeling less-than-glowing. But come summertime, I ditch the foundation and replace it with a cream bronzer and lightly brush some mineral powder on top to achieve that dewy, “I just spent a day at the beach” look.

I find that a cream bronzer, as opposed to a powder, blends better with your skin and give everyone a sun-kissed glow and never causes the “oops, I used too much bronzer and now I look like I played in the dirt” situation.

I discovered that using the Royal & Langnickel S.I.L.K Contour Synthetic Kabuki Brush ($10, www.royalbrush.com), works better than any other brush I have used to blend in the bronzer.

Royal & Langnickel S.I.L.K Contour Synthetic Kabuki

Since it’s synthetic, it washes amazingly easy and evenly distributes the semi-liquidy makeup. On top of the bronzer I then use the Domed Synthetic Kabuki ($10 www.royalbrush.com)

Royal & Langnickel Domed Synthetic Kabuki

 to blend the mineral powder over my entire face to solidify my summery airbrushed look! I prefer to use BareMinerals Tinted Mineral Veil ($19, www.bareescentuals.com), but almost every drugstore brand now sells something similar at Target-friendly prices. So do yourself a favor, and as the heatwaves come at us, lighten up!

Tip: If you want to look extra-glowing, use a highlighter like Arbonne’s Sheer Glow Highligher or Benefit’s High Beam! A dab on the cheeks & eyebrow bones will do you wonders.

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

Categories: Uncategorized

Author:The Art of Beauty Blog

At Royal & Langnickel we LOVE beauty, but we are PASSIONATE about brushes. This is why we designed our lines alongside some of the industry’s top professional makeup artists to ensure the quality and craftsmanship would stand up to intense daily use, while providing a flawless finish. We look to use this weblog to share with professional makeup artists and enthusiasts information on beauty and brushes. We hope you enjoy and engage!

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

