Seeing Red

Back in February when the Fall ’11 shows debuted at the various fashion weeks I noticed that pops of red were everywhere this year and I couldn’t get them off my mind. From the runways to bloggers to editors, red was a huge go-to hue to brighten everyone’s look while waiting for the dreary winter to end. I was craving red in any form I could get it- skirts, tights, ballet flats, you name it.

Marchesa Fall ’11 Presentation

Wes Gordon Fall ’11

Tommy Ton

 But as much as I love my springy little red additions to my wardrobe, I know that most of them are hardly going to be appropriate next fall when the windchill decides to dip below 10 degrees. This left me wondering- How will I keep vibrant red in my wardrobe come the winter months?

The answer hit me while I was in Brick Lane in East London- Red Lippy. Every third girl walking past me was sporting this punchy lip color and were looking amazingly good sporting it. A little rouge on the lips can bring your entire outfit from drab to fab in a second by making you look effortlessly feminine and put-together.  I decided right there, if all these girls can do it so can I and headed to Boots to grab a tube of my own!

Now it’s going to take some trial and error to find your perfect red (trust me, I had a bad run-in with a orange-red that made me look sickly) but there’s a one tried and true classic that will fit in perfectly with your makeup drawer:

Revlon’s Fire and Ice.

This color was  created in 1952 and 59 years later many makeup artists still view it as the most universally flattering of affordable lipsticks. It is a coral-y red with a hint of blue, which makes it compatible with almost every skin tone. This is for sure a bombshell lip color for those who will dare to go bold

The original ’52 add, and the Jessica Biel remake in ’10

Red is the perfect alternative to this springs poppy fuchsia colors, so start testing your shades out now and your perfect red will be there when you need it for the fall!

C656 Taklon Pointed Lip Brush

C656 Taklon Pointed Lip Brush

To make application a breeze, I use my Royal & Langnickel C656 Taklon Pointed Lip Brush because red lipstick needs super precise application and the angled tip let’s me get that vibrant color all the way to the edges of my lips. Then, I just toss the C651 Retractable Synthetic Lip Brush into my cross-body and head out the door. Watch out world, here comes glamour!

C651 Retractable Synthetic Lip Brush

C651 Retractable Synthetic Lip Brush

Tip: If you want to try fall’s vibrant red but are too scared to go for a full-on red lip, swipe some of that lipstick on, blot it off and cover with lip balm. Bam! Insta lip tint.

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine

Categories: Uncategorized

Author:The Art of Beauty Blog

At Royal & Langnickel we LOVE beauty, but we are PASSIONATE about brushes. This is why we designed our lines alongside some of the industry’s top professional makeup artists to ensure the quality and craftsmanship would stand up to intense daily use, while providing a flawless finish. We look to use this weblog to share with professional makeup artists and enthusiasts information on beauty and brushes. We hope you enjoy and engage!

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

